Contact your Member Society

GSMD Member Societies

The General Society of Mayflower Descendants is made up of 54 Member Societies representing all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Canada, Europe, and Australia. Member Societies are volunteer organizations that were authorized and granted a Charter by the General Board of Assistants (GBOA).

Each Member Society has its own Constitution and Bylaws and elects its own officers (Governor, Assistant Governor, Treasurer, Secretary, Historian, Elder, Counseller, Captain, Surgeon). Additionally, Member Societies set their own dues and fees. Those applying to become a member of The Mayflower Society must apply for membership through a Member Society.

In addition to their own elected officers, every Member Society has a Deputy Governor General (DGG) and an Assistant General (AG) who are nominated by their Society to be elected by the General Board of Assistants. They represent their Society at annual GBOA meetings and at the General Congress. 

Responsibilities of the Deputy Governor General (DGG) and the Assistant General (AG) include keeping up to date on information distributed about the General Society, bringing to the attention of the GBOA any matters that should be considered, reporting to their Member Society Board a summary of actions taken at General Society meetings, and generating interest in the General Society.

We are delighted you are interested in joining the Mayflower Society!

Click the member society links to learn more about the member societies and to obtain contact information.